The Liebster Award

liebster-award

So I was more than surprised to receive this nomination as I only have 40 followers and often feel that my blog is sometimes a teenage-esque angsty diatribe bordering on diary that is only looked at by myself and other angsty people (statistics show that I’m on the first page of google results when you search ‘letter to an ex-boyfriend’) and people from all over the world who google search ‘cool photoshopped pictures.’ That one’s fun because I’m apparently linked on some Russian Website for my edited picture of ‘Raising the Flag on Iwo Jima.’ Go figure.

Anyway, I appreciate the nomination, and I’ll try to complete this as interestingly and painlessly as possible. If anyone happens to read this besides the people that I choose to nominate.

What is it?
The Liebster Award is designed to bring recognition to smaller blogs–that is, blogs with 200 or fewer followers.

The Rules
1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and link back to their blog >> The lovely Normal is the New Weird
2. Post 11 facts about yourself, answer the 11 questions asked of you, and create 11 new questions for the bloggers you nominate.
3. Nominate 11 blogs you think deserve to be noticed, and leave comments for them letting them know they’ve been chosen.
4. Display the Liebster Award logo.
5. No tag-backs.

11 cosas sobre mi…

1. I’m addicted to diet mountain dew.
2. I’m going to Yogyakarta, Indonesia this summer to study printmaking and street art. Whaddup.
3. I love information design, and would love to work with Nate Silver on a project one day.
4. The National is my favorite band (they’re playing one song for 6 hours straight at an art show today, coincidentally)
5. I wish more people were open-minded about politics and discussing politics.
6. I’m from the state that’s shaped like a mitten, and proud of it. Detroit will rise from the ashes.
7. I’m going to do Teach for America after I graduate from college.
8. I have a rabbit named Lola, named after the bunny in Space Jam.
9. I was the mascot my senior year of high school. We were the Red Hawks.
10. I used to swim and play water polo, and I miss it terribly.
11. I’m terribly afraid of spiders and anything that ends in -ipede.

Questions for the Nominees:
1. What has been the best/most surprising thing you’ve learned from blogging? That the world has a lot more talented writers than we actually think, and they don’t all need book publishers or agents to be successful.
2. If you could go back and make one moment of your life last just a little bit longer, what would it be? The summer after my freshman year of college, when we still spent all of our time together.
3. What are your favorite and least favorite foods? Favorite would be a plain bagel. It’s pathetic, I know. I am not adventurous with foods whatsoever. Least favorites are those with conflicting textures. Like orange juice with pulp. Yogurt with fruit in it. Brownies with nuts.
4. If you could move your entire life somewhere else for a year and then come right back to where you were and pick up where you left off, where would you move to? New Zealand. I’ve never been there but from the pictures it looks beautiful and the people live simply and happily. Plus there are more sheep than people, and I don’t always like people that much.
5. What would you tell today’s kids/teenagers if you could get them all together (and be assured they will listen to you) for 30 minutes? To stop being so self-righteous. Stop acting like the world is out to get you. Didn’t get into your dream school? Your fault, not the office of admissions. Few people are born with silver spoons in their mouths, however much it may seem the opposite. Anybody who is anybody worked their ass off to get there. You will need to do the same.
6. Would you rather be surprised by death or have time to prepare? Surprised. Preparing means you tie up all the loose ends; some things should be left unanswered or those we lose would be forgotten.
7. What quality do you admire in someone you know that you wish you had yourself? Time management. I’ll do absolutely everything before starting on something that’s actually important.
8. What is the best time of day? Not day. Night. 12 A.M. to 4 A.M. No one’s awake and you’ll accomplish more by yourself than at any other time.
9. Is Facebook wonderful or too dangerous to be worth it? It’s sometimes annoying, but is the easiest way to share information and talk with friends. I’d be missing out if I deleted my facebook at this point.
10. When is it ok to keep a secret? When it’s not your secret to tell.
11. How do you overcome writer’s block with your blog? I don’t. If I tried to set out and write something everyday, the writing would be rushed or crappy or I wouldn’t be interested. If I come up with an idea, I write it down and save it for later. Your readers might prefer more consistent posts, but only add to the vast expanse of the internet if you really think your writing is worth other people’s time.

My Nominations (sorry if these are a little family/friend biased, or if there are slightly more than 200 followers)

1. One Day One Image (great photography)
2. Twentieth Avenue (basically about food, found through searching ‘Ann Arbor’)
3. 365 Days of Random (my friend Megan’s blog about college, friendship, and life in general)
4. Life Examinations (cool blog on little things we don’t always think about)
5. Heart Tree Home (my sister’s blog; she’s a crafter, cooker, party planner, home decorator extraordinaire)
6. Native Londoner (not that many posts, but a lot of cool culture-related debates and posts)
7. Drew the Goose (college junior in Journalism, he writes about a variety of interesting random things)
8. Memoirs of a Gay Black Man (fighting his addiction to meth, read it to feel inspired about the human spirit)
9. Life and Other Clutter (no specific topic, but basically life & love & feelings in Australia)
10. Chips with Tyler (my friend Tyler’s blog. He’s in college at MSU and is incredibly hilarious and smart)
11. Theory and Practice of Trying to Combine Just Anything (Great for science and information lovers alike)

Questions for the Nominees:

1. Why did you start blogging?
2. What’s something you could write about, in your opinion, better than many other people?
3. What’s been your hardest challenge thus far?
4. What is your dream job?
5. What was a big decision you had to make, and would you choose something else knowing what you know now?
6. Who is your greatest inspiration?
7. Who is your favorite writer or artist?
8. What is your favorite song (or favorite song lyrics)?
9. If you could intern anywhere or with anyone in the world, who would it be with?
10. What’s one of your favorite memories?
11. If there was one thing about politics you wish everyone would agree upon, what would it be and why?

5 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Thanks a ton, Kristen! I am honored if somebody with a cool blog like yours is nominating mine! I will reply in due time, but I need to get a weird posting out first I had promised to write some time ago :-)

    Like

  2. Pingback: What is it? The Liebster Award is designed | Chips With Tyler
  3. Pingback: Liebster Blog Award: This Time I Try to Respond in a More Normal Way | Theory and Practice of Trying to Combine Just Anything
  4. bonjour, je tenais à te remercier pour la qualité des articles de ton blog ! j’édite moi aussi un blog depuis peu et j’espère pouvoir faire aussi bien :-) A bientôt, ZAK

    Like

SPEAK UP

