How hard it is to pretend to get smart peoples’ references

Hey Kristen,
Someone was telling me that someone as sure-footed as you would like to hear my diatribe on current politics. I’d like to say that I think the Republican candidate reminded me a little too much of Gary Busey. But overall, the tone of the entire thing is like a Pauly Shore movie. I feel like I would know more about their platforms if I were Jewish, or learned about it through Wikileaks. Julian Assange, am I right?

I was watching an episode of Degrassi last week, and it legitimately could have tongue-in-cheek described what went down in the vice-presidential debate. And what about the fiscal cliff? It’s almost like Michael Crichton penned that one in homage to the cinematic drama encapsulated by Roman Coppola.

You’re nodding as if you understand, so thank you for bearing with me. Sometimes I feel as if you’re J-Woww or Honey Boo-Boo or a character from Toddlers in Tiaras, The Hills, The OC, any of the Real Housewives shows, The X-Factor, American Idol, Castle, Walking Dead, Vampire Diaries, or any other remotely popular show. I just feel like sometimes people nod along for my benefit, you know?

Thanks,
Person you had a conversation with

SPEAK UP

